Log In   |   Sign Up

Advertisement

Dark Woods Haunted Attraction Reviews

 
« Back To Profile
  • 4343 University Parkway
  • Natchitoches, LA
  • 318-289-9019
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Very Scary
Appropriate For
No age restrictions. Dark Woods leaves it to the parents judgement as to what is appropriate for their child.
Organization Type
Commercial / For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses, Haunted Trails / Spook Walks, Pub Crawls
Review This Haunt
  • Email Verified Absolutely amazing!

    I enjoy haunted houses and look forward to each new haunted house but it’s always a disappointment. They all seem to be the same boring show, one let down after another. NOT this time. Dark woods is anything but a disappointment! The wait in line was the only thing I didn’t like but it was well worth it! The 3D haunt was excellent and the trail was amazing. I will definitely go back next year. For anyone tired of the same old tired haunted house looking for a really scary fun time dark woods is the place to go!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Movie production quality

    We had an amazing experience. Definitely not what I expected but in a good way. Totally worth it. I expected a cheesey experience but this was by far the best haunted scare I've ever had. And boogie was awesome. Go check it out and you will find out who boogie is lol

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Terrifying

    Dark Woods was amazing n terrifying I was completely blown away at the trail n terrified hanging on for dear life and let me just say the 3D maze was insane I've never felt so scared n thrilled n happy at same time will definitely be a repeat customer I could rave on this place forever n Boogie was AMAZING ! Be prepared to be scared n ready to run loved it!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified BOOGIE

    boogie is the best

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 45-60 minutes
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified AMAZING

    I had the best time here from the trail to the carnival! was in shock of how amazing, scary, and fun the whole experience was!! definitely coming back!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 45-60 minutes
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best time ever

    This attraction is so underrated this was the best haunted house so far way better than 13th gate I love the fact that they only allow small groups to go at a time that what makes it even scarier and funnier

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • GREAT SCARY FUN!!

    We had a group of 4 and this event was awesome!! Psychologically terrifying!!! I cried a little, peed a little, and screameda lot!!! Haha!! I highly recommend getting the fast pass tickets to skip the super long lines!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Absolutely amazing!

    I enjoy haunted houses and look forward to each new haunted house but it’s always a disappointment. They all seem to be the same boring show, one let down after another. NOT this time. Dark woods is anything but a disappointment! The wait in line was the only thing I didn’t like but it was well worth it! The 3D haunt was excellent and the trail was amazing. I will definitely go back next year. For anyone tired of the same old tired haunted house looking for a really scary fun time dark woods is the place to go!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Movie production quality

    We had an amazing experience. Definitely not what I expected but in a good way. Totally worth it. I expected a cheesey experience but this was by far the best haunted scare I've ever had. And boogie was awesome. Go check it out and you will find out who boogie is lol

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Terrifying

    Dark Woods was amazing n terrifying I was completely blown away at the trail n terrified hanging on for dear life and let me just say the 3D maze was insane I've never felt so scared n thrilled n happy at same time will definitely be a repeat customer I could rave on this place forever n Boogie was AMAZING ! Be prepared to be scared n ready to run loved it!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified BOOGIE

    boogie is the best

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 45-60 minutes
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified AMAZING

    I had the best time here from the trail to the carnival! was in shock of how amazing, scary, and fun the whole experience was!! definitely coming back!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 45-60 minutes
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best time ever

    This attraction is so underrated this was the best haunted house so far way better than 13th gate I love the fact that they only allow small groups to go at a time that what makes it even scarier and funnier

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • GREAT SCARY FUN!!

    We had a group of 4 and this event was awesome!! Psychologically terrifying!!! I cried a little, peed a little, and screameda lot!!! Haha!! I highly recommend getting the fast pass tickets to skip the super long lines!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Great Scares / Great Location / Great Haunted Attraction!!

    What can I say about Dark Woods. We drove in from Dallas to check out this gem. What more could you want from a haunt?? The location is prime. Deep back in the woods with two great haunted attractions and plenty to do and see. Great options for food and merchandise and let's talk about the haunts themselves. Dark Carnival in 3D has you winding in and out of rooms and tight spaces with scares around every corner. The 3D effects are the best I have ever seen. Well decorated and quite long. The use of space is amazing. Dead Fall Train is the outdoor walking trail. I love these types of attractions. You feel so vulnerable walking outside in deep woods in the dark with just the right amount of accent lighting and sounds scattered about in all the right places. The scenery is great and the scares will get you every time. Do yourself a favor and get out to Dark Woods this season! I will definitely be back!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Terrified!!!

    This was most engaging terrifying experience I have ever had. The characters were Hollywood movie grade top quality that really made you feel you were in these settings. I was so scared and creeped out. The 3D fun house was great. Very fun. Everyone needs to go and have a great scary experience this Halloween.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Totally F****** bad**

    The costumes were great, make up was amazing! The fact that you all stayed in character was what really got me though, there was no mercy even when I begged you to stop! I have told so many people about y’all, and I’m thinking I may be brave enough to come back to do the trail, but idk if my heart can take it!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Fun N Frightful

    An excellent fun and frightful experience. Dark Woods haunt is nothing less than fantastic. Everything is perfect for this haunted attraction and pricing is not so high too. Dark Carnival in 3D the theatrical black-light thriller was terrifying as well as fun. While the creepy scares of Dead Fall Trail were really effective and everything worked out very well. We are still confused in deciding which of the two haunts is more better! A Must visit place.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Absolutely Fantastic

    Dark Woods is probably one of the best haunts in town. It is absolutely fantastic going there. We are still catching out breathe. Unlike many haunted houses, there are many attractions in this place which are unique from one another. I particularly liked the Dead Fall Trail through haunted woods while my friends enjoyed the 3D Carnival. Would recommend this place to anyone!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Overpriced & Long Waits

    What a waste of time and money! I am regretting now going to this place. Firstly tickets are too high ($30 for general and $45 for fast pass) for what they are providing. Just two attractions with average scares and too short length; yet they charge so much. It is such a shame on them not providing high quality scares despite making us wait for hours in queue.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Super Scary

    Very impressed with the quality of haunts. We visited this place last weekend in a group of four. At first, we took the long, winding, fright-filled trail through the haunted woods. It was damn scary as actors were too good in matching the acts with respect to special effects and progression of acts was superb. The next was 3D carnival and it met our expectations. Lovely setups and amazingly designed special effects instill a heart pounding fear in us. The ticket prices were reasonable. Certainly, A+ rated haunted show and we would love visit again!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Unique Themes

    We have visited a number of haunted houses and this attraction was Amazingly Great! Had a horror vibe and lots of spooks and screams. Never a boring turn and actors did a nice job in utilizing all turns. Liked the incorporation of unique themes. As a group we were really screaming, cringing, running, and laughing at how much they surprised us. Well worth the drive and the admission. We'll be back for sure!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Freaky Fun

    I am usually bold and hard to get scared. But for a couple of times I jumped while the maze trail. The scares were expertly arranged. The creepy dolls surprised me. My wife got freaked out by Lumber Jack guy. Character Della was interesting one too. The 3D carnival gave us some nice scares. The line was long but the visit was worth the wait. Ticket rates were cheap. Definitely we will be back.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Horror Pakage

    I have visited lots of haunted attractions in the past and I should say this Dark Woods was the best. Unique thing about this haunted attraction is that it has village vibe which is missing in most of the attractions. It is a well packed haunted attraction which offers more scares, screams, laughs & fun. Dark Carnival in 3D was something I haven’t seen elsewhere. It was never boring turn. They have surprised us very well and it is worth visiting. We'll be back for sure.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Lit and sweet

    The workers there were AWESOME. The trail was hella scary and the best part is that there were no mosquitoes!!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Darkwoods Is 100% Worth It!

    This was our second year visiting Darkwoods. We live in Shreveport, but do not be deterred by the drive, because it is all part of a fantastic Halloween adventure! Starting with the bus ride from the parking lot, the entire experience is a blast, and only getting better each year. We took our teenage daughters this time and got the fast pass tickets for both major attractions. The 3D Carnival house was mind-bendingly awesome. Wear the glasses they provide for full effect, but even without the glasses it is so much scary fun. The haunted trail too is enhanced with more "I don't want to go in there!" twists and turns. Darkwoods is the best haunt we have ever been to, easily. Professional design, great actors all about the place. Truly a gem for central LA, and as I said earlier, 100% worth it!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Love this place

    DarkWoods is awesome. Absolutely loved it. Will go back. Costumes and makeup are perfect. Never know what to expect. Paid to get scared and I did.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: > 1 hour
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Save Your Money

    An average haunt. A dismal performance by all actors and 3D Carnival was a very short haunt show. We spent around 1.5 hours in the queue for a mild haunt of less than 10 minutes inside the house. Average costume design and overloaded special effects, it’s like a science exhibition. I hardly got scared or screamed at any moment. Save your money and go somewhere else!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Different Experience

    Experiences in Dark Wood haunt was really different from the other haunts I visited this year. Few creepy characters even chased us through the woods. We had the same experience in the maze too… My wife screamed loud when they got close. My kid’s favourite was the 3D carnival. Performance of the actors stood out. Sets seems to be realistic while the props and decorations were perfect. For me, the scariest part was the trail through the woods. Staff were helpful. I recommend this place.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • 3D Show Really Amazing

    I with my family went to the Dark Wood haunt to celebrate Halloween. It was just awesome. Actors were great. The 3D carnival really amazed me. It was pretty scary too. Clowns made my wife scream. The long walk through the dark woods really frightened me. Creepy characters behind the woods could startle you anytime with their makeup and screams. The maze was very creepy... had some scary props and weird characters hiding in the cover of corn stalks. We are planning to come again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best ever

    Was an amazing time, i have been to another haunted attraction and I love this way better. Love how the space was so open!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Scary and fun!

    Really enjoyed it! The props and set up was great! Actors were definitely scary!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Awesome Haunted Attraction

    By far the best haunted attraction I've visited so far!! Great jump scared and chasers! And the costumes are extremely well done and realistic!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Lots of fun!!

    We had a GREAT time!! The haunted trail was my favorite. The actors were outstanding and attention to detail, superb! I would recommend entering the trail with no more than 2 at a time. Way scarier of an experience in small numbers!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: > 1 hour
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Unsure
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Best time i had being scared

    Haunted woods is amazing. The characters are great and very frightning but in the same time they take pictures with everyone. I loved hiw they have monsters walking through the woods just popping up scaring people. The best was when a lady went use the port a potty and a monster walked passed and hit it. She came out running and did not stop till she crossed the spooky bridge. A bridge that has a flickering light pole made it even more spooky .the magician was truly amazing i wish more people would of stopped to watched him. The haunted trail was truly haunted with screams in the night and the clown house was amazing effects. My mom went in as a scaredy cat and had a blast just watching people scream .thank you for purting on an fun haunted house rhat is npt the same as everyone elses. I will recommend this to anyone.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: > 1 hour
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Awsome experience

    My boyfriend and I went Saturday night and had a great time! It's really scary but soooo much fun! The worst part for me was the butcher man he really creeps me out! I loved the 3D carnival it was a bunch of jump scares but it was so funn!!!i hope to go back next year.. it's so worth the 2 hour drive!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Awesome Haunt for a Small Town

    This haunt has improved so much over the years. This year was outstanding. I've been to quite a few haunts and this one has fresh new ideas that i actually havent seen at any other haunts. Definitely worth it!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Intensely Insane

    Did both the 3D and the Trail. The 3D is amazing! The effects catch you eye, while the clowns scare the crap out of you!! The trail?? Well let’s say, at some point you wonder if you are going to make it out or live there forever! There is so much great detail, if you can stay in one place long enough to check it out! Go!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified This place is insane!

    The whole park shows such attention to detail. Really really nice. The 3D black light stuff is bizarrely awesome and it's like nothing I've ever seen before. They do a good job of using it not just as a novelty, but to add to the already scary atmosphere. Hollywood-quality costumes and props. Will definitely return!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted August 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Awesome!

    Love, love, love Dark Woods!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted August 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Great Haunt

    Highly suggest visiting

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted August 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Skeered Anyway!

    Knew what it was, where it was, knew wasn't real, had it figured out, but, SKEERED ANYWAY! Great place beautifully put together. Will be back.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted August 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Natchitoches Nightmare

    Dark Woods is more than just a haunted attraction. It has more than chain saws and clowns. Any monkey can make that scary. The DW crew has taken what is elementary jump scares and turned it into a mad science. They've taken sciences like psychology and visual effects to make their haunt. They're the only 3D haunt in the state. The 3D effects are insane. It's a trip with the way the lights and the colors bend and dance. That's just the house. Then there's the trail. It too is a nightmare come to life. A ghostly 1920-1930's lumber town gone horribly wrong. There's so much to it too. There's buildings and characters and scares to make you believe you're in a haunted ghostly saw mill lumber town from that era. Each year the park gets better. I believe 2017 will be their 3rd season and they're already listed as number 12 of the top 31 in the nation as rated by scare factor's website. So that's why they should be the number one winner for the state.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: > 1 hour
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted August 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Awesome place!

    Love it! Lots of effort has gone into making this a great haunt to visit. The actors are great and the facilities are well done.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted August 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • incredible!

    The 3D effects in the house were amazing!! I went two different times and as I time the walk to the haunt was different and scary! I do not do haunted houses much!! But I really enjoyed this both times!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 4 found this review helpful

Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?